SC voter registration deadline is Saturday



South Carolinians who haven’t registered to vote must do so by Saturday to cast ballots in the General Election on Nov. 8.

Hurricane Matthew has forced 26 county offices to close – including those in Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg and Barnwell counties – but voters still can register before the deadline, according to the state Election Commission. Here’s how:

Register online at (requires SC Driver’s License or DMV ID Card) before midnight on Saturday

Register using the My scVOTES mobile application, available in the Apple and Google Play stores (requires SC Driver’s License or DMV ID Card)

Download a voter registration form from Complete and return the form to your county voter registration and elections office by mail, fax or email. Mail would require a postmark no later than Oct. 8. Faxes or emails just have to be received by Oct. 8.

People who might need to register include voters who have moved from one county to another and have not yet registered in their new home county or those who have recently moved to the state.

Aiken County settled many of its races in the primary election in June, but voters will decide on the next sheriff, U.S. senator, U.S. representative from District 2, and state senator from District 26.

Incumbent U.S. Sen. Tim Scott faces opposition from Democrat Thomas Dixon, who is also listed on the ballot as a candidate from the Green and Working Families parties, Bill Bledsoe of the Libertarian and Constitution parties and Rebel Michael Scarborough of the American Party.

U.S. Rep. Joe Wilson, the Republican incumbent from District 2, has two opponents: Democrat Arik Bjorn and Eddie McCain of the American Party. Bjorn is also listed on the ballot as a Green Party

In the sheriff’s race, Republican incumbent Mike Hunt faces Democrat Henry “Hank” Sims.

Democratic incumbent state Sen. Nikki Setzler, of District 26, has opposition from Republican Brad Lindsey.

For president, besides Democrat Hillary Clinton or Republican Donald Trump, Aiken County voters can choose Libertarian Gary Johnnson, Jill Stein of the Green Party, Darrell Castle of the Constitution Party, Evan McMullin of the Independence Party or Peter Skewes of the American Party.


State Senate, District
24: Tom Young, Republican

State Senate, District 25: Shane Massey, Republican

State House of Representatives, District 81: Bart Blackwell, Republican

State House of Representatives, District 82: William “Bill” Clyburn, Democrat

State House of Representatives, District 83: Bill Hixon, Republican

State House of Representatives, District 84: Chris Corley, Republican

State House of Representatives, District 86: Bill Taylor, Republican

Solicitor Circuit 2: J. Strom Thurmond, Republican

Probate Judge: Tonya L. Marchant, Republican

Clerk of Court: Robert J. Harte, Republican

Coroner: Tim Carlton, Republican

Auditor: Charles T. Barton, Republican

County Treasurer: Jason Goings, Republican

County Council Chairman: Ronnie Young, Republican

County Council District 3: Danny Feagin, Republican

County Council District 4: Chuck Smith, Republican

County Council District 7: Andrew Siders, Republican

County Council District 8: Willar H. Hightower Jr., Democrat

Register of Mesne Conveyance: Judith V Warner, Republican

Soil and Water District Commission: Neely Page, Nonpartisan

School Board District 1: Ronnie West

School Board District 4: Keith Liner

School Board District 8: Tad Barber

School Board District 9: Ahmed Samaha

Commissioner of Public Works, College Acres Water & Sewer: Steve Whitaker


Source: South Carolina Election Commission