Wyck Knox Jr., Thomas Blanchard Jr. to be inducted into CSRA Business Hall of Fame

An Augusta attorney who is a director with Atlanta Gas & Light’s parent company and an Augusta real estate mogul will be inducted next month into the CSRA Business Hall of Fame.


Wyck Knox Jr. and Thomas Blanchard Jr. will be honored at a black-tie dinner at the Legends Club on Jan. 31.

The Junior Achievement of Augusta-sponsored Hall of Fame was created in 2003 to recognize businesspeople whose leadership and community service are an inspiration to younger generations.

The annual event helps fund Junior Achievement, which will have programs for more than 8,200 students in the area during the 2012-13 school year.

Blanchard is the president of Blanchard & Calhoun Real Estate Co. and Blanchard & Calhoun Insurance and is CEO of Augusta Mortgage Co. He joined the Augusta real estate firm in 1970.

He serves on the board of the Community Foundation of the CSRA, Westover Memorial Cemetery and First Tee of Augusta.

He is a past chairman of the Augusta Metro Chamber of Commerce, Augusta Board of Realtors and Mortgage Bankers Association of Georgia. He is also a trustee for the Academy of Richmond County.

Knox has been active in law and business for nearly 50 years. He is counsel at the law firm of Kilpatrick Townsend, a director of AGL Resources, a partner of Knox Properties and the president of Knox Charity Fund. He is a trustee and chairman of the Endowment Committee of Young Harris College and the Ida Cason Callaway Foundation.

In 1976, Knox became the CEO of Knox Rivers Construction Co. and founded the Knox & Zacks law firm with partner David Zacks.

Knox also served as a founding director and chairman of the board of Georgia Lottery Corp.

Five named to CSRA Business Hall of Fame
Leaders inducted into CSRA Business Hall of Fame
Inductees stand out for successes, civic involvement
Inductees stand out for achievements


• Richard (Rick) W. Allen

• J. Pierce Blanchard

• Patrick G. Blanchard

• Clayton P. Boardman III

• Clayton (Red) P. Boardman Jr.

• William Hammond Burkhalter

• W. Cothran Campbell

• William P. Copenhaver

• Terry D. Elam

• Joseph D. Greene

• Jeff Hadden

• Joey Hadden

• Gregory L. Hodges

• Gordon Huff

• James M. Hull

• Boone A. Knox

• Peter Seymour Knox III

• Carolyn Maund

• E.G. Meybohm

• William S. Morris III

• Charles W. Norwood

• H. Montague Osteen

• George W. Parks Jr.

• Ed Presnell

• Paul S. Simon

• Perry M. Smith

• Vera W. Stewart

• Joseph M. Still Jr. M.D.

• Ann Taylor

• Donnie W. Thompson

• Kenneth Walz

• George G. Weiss

• Weldon Wyatt

Business leaders to be inducted into hall of fame
4 leaders to be honored as youth role models


Tue, 01/16/2018 - 22:59

Rants and raves

Tue, 01/16/2018 - 22:55

SRS employee workshop set