Seasonal ban on outdoor burning begins May 1

Richmond and Columbia County residents will see a seasonal ban on outdoor burning go into effect May 1.


The ban, which affects 54 counties, is part of the Georgia Environmental Protection Division’s effort to reduce ozone and particle emissions that are most dangerous during warm weather months.

The ban extends through Sept. 30 and prohibits residents and businesses from outdoor burning of yard and land-clearing debris. The rule is in addition to a statewide, year-round ban on burning household garbage. Some actions, such as campfires and agricultural activities, are exempt from this ban.

Particle pollution can increase the risk of a heart attack. In the summer, nitrogen oxides combine with fumes from fuels, paints and vegetation to form ground-level ozone, which contributes to respiratory ailments.

Most counties, including Richmond and Columbia, are under rules that require a free, daily permit before burning. Anyone planning to burn yard debris during the final week can obtain a permit online at

With the results of the 2010 U.S. census, six new counties in Georgia have populations over 65,000 and are now subject to restrictions that require - in addition to the seasonal outdoor burning ban - the use of an air curtain destructor for land clearing activities. Those counties are Barrow, Bulloch, Newton, Troup, Walker and Walton.

People, particularly children, are more apt to be outdoors during May through September. It is during this time that ozone and particle pollution are generally higher than the rest of the year.

The open burning ban began in 1996 with the 13-county metro Atlanta area and expanded to other parts of the state in 2005.

Georgia outdoor burning rules


Wed, 08/16/2017 - 10:52

Tips for safe eclipse viewing