Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal extends state of emergency for 10 counties

With recovery operations still in full swing from last week’s winter storm, Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal has extended the state of emergency for 10 counties – including Richmond and Columbia – until midnight Monday.

Other affected counties are Baldwin, Burke, Hancock, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Screven and Washington, according to a news release from the governor’s office.

The extension ensures continued use of state resources needed during the ongoing disaster recovery.

Winter storm costing counties in workers' overtime
After winter storm come thefts of powerline wires, insurance fraud
Columbia County contractor beginning debris clean-up
Goody Two Shoes inventory ruined by ice storm damage
Some trees can be saved after damage from ice storm