Across the Area

Schools with room for transfers announced


The Richmond County school system has announced the 12 elementary, middle and high schools that have the capacity to accept student transfers.

House Bill 251 gives Georgia parents the freedom to request a transfer for their child to selected schools other than their zoned school for 2009-10.

Elementary schools with space are Craig-Houghton, A. Brian Merry, Jamestown, Hephzibah and Willis Foreman. Middle schools are Hephzibah, Morgan Road, Spirit Creek and Tutt. High schools are Hephzibah, T.W. Josey and Westside.

Parents have until July 15 to complete the transfer request form and submit it to the Richmond County Board of Education.

SRS job fairs planned at Paine, Aiken Tech

The U.S. Department of Energy announced that its Savannah River Operations Office and Savannah River Nuclear Solutions will hold two town hall meetings and job fairs.

The first meeting is at 11 a.m. Tuesday in the amphitheater, Building 700, at Aiken Technical College. The job fair will follow in the gymnasium, Building 900, from noon to 3 p.m.

The second meeting will be at 11 a.m. July 20 in Gilbert-Lambuth Memorial Chapel at Paine College. The job fair will be in the college's Carter Gymnasium from noon to 3 p.m.