86 percent failing test got a pass

Although 1,715 Richmond County schoolchildren failed a state test required for promotion, most of them have moved on to the next grade, according to records released by the school system.


In Georgia, pupils must pass certain portions of the state's Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests in order to automatically advance to the next grade. Third-graders must pass reading, and fifth- and eighth-graders must pass reading and math.

Of the 1,715 Richmond County pupils who failed a required portion of the CRCT, however, 1,476 -- about 86 percent -- were promoted this school year.

State law allows pupils who don't pass to file an appeal with a committee consisting of a parent, teacher and principal. With the committee's unanimous consent, the pupil can pass to the next grade.

In third grade, 72.6 percent of appeals were successful, 86.9 percent of fifth-grade appeals were granted, and 89.1 percent of eighth-graders won their appeals.

Reach Greg Gelpi at (706) 828-3851 or greg.gelpi@augustachronicle.com.


East Augusta Middle413380.5
Glenn Hills Middle1078579.4
Hephzibah Middle663654.5
Langford Middle10710194.4
Morgan Road Middle139139100
Murphey Middle12811287.5
Sego Middle6666100
Spirit Creek Middle11110998.2
Tubman Middle675988.1
Tutt Middle363391.7
C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet00NA

Source: Richmond County Board of Education


Barton Chapel Elementary12650
Bayvale Elementary9555.6
Blythe Elementary00NA
Collins Elementary12541.7
Copeland Elementary131076.9
Craig-Houghton Elementary5480
Deer Chase Elementary55100
Diamond Lakes Elementary88100
Freedom Park Elementary9444.4
Garrett Elementary11100
Glenn Hills Elementary10880
Goshen Elementary00NA
Gracewood Elementary1313100
Hains Elementary4250
Hephzibah Elementary11100
Hornsby Elementary4125
Jamestown Elementary33100
Jenkins-White Elementary1414100
Lake Forest Hills Elementary00NA
Lamar Elementary11327.3
McBean Elementary00NA
Meadowbrook Elementary13969.2
A. Brian Merry Elementary00NA
Milledge Elementary16956.3
Monte Sano Elementary100
National Hills Elementary100
Reynolds Elementary7685.7
Rollins Elementary3266.7
Southside Elementary11872.7
Terrace Manor Elementary6466.7
Tobacco Road Elementary88100
C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet100
Warren Road Elementary7685.7
Wheeless Road Elementary8787.5
Wilkinson Gardens Elementary99100
Willis Foreman Elementary66100
Windsor Spring Elementary11100

Source: Richmond County Board of Education


Barton Chapel Elementary423583.3
Bayvale Elementary111090.9
Blythe Elementary1111100
Collins Elementary11763.6
Copeland Elementary1717100
Craig-Houghton Elementary281553.6
Deer Chase Elementary312890.3
Diamond Lakes Elementary1515100
Freedom Park Elementary232087
Garrett Elementary55100
Glenn Hills Elementary262388.5
Goshen Elementary10880
Gracewood Elementary313096.8
Hains Elementary1111100
Hephzibah Elementary9666.7
Hornsby Elementary44100
Jamestown Elementary77100
Jenkins-White Elementary1818100
Lake Forest Hills Elementary77100
Lamar Elementary201575
McBean Elementary1010100
Meadowbrook Elementary272488.9
A. Brian Merry Elementary33100
Milledge Elementary16850
Monte Sano Elementary1717100
National Hills Elementary22100
Reynolds Elementary252184
Rollins Elementary191789.5
Southside Elementary6583.3
Terrace Manor Elementary201785
Tobacco Road Elementary1717100
C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet300
Warren Road Elementary66100
Wheeless Road Elementary171482.4
Wilkinson Gardens Elementary251768
Willis Foreman Elementary3333100
Windsor Spring Elementary2525100