26 Richmond County schools tabbed "distinguished" by State superintendent

Twenty six Richmond County schools have been named Title 1 Distinguished schools by the state superintendent’s office, according to a Richmond County School System release sent today.

“We want to congratulate the 26 Title 1 schools for being recognized by the GaDOE as Distinguished Schools,” Geneva Stallings, director of the Title 1 Department, said in the release. “These schools are honored by the state with a certificate or monetary award, and may be further honored in May at the Title 1 Distinguished Schools Banquet with Superintendent (Kathy) Cox.”

School receiving the designation are: Bayvale Elementary, Blythe Elementary, Collins Elementary, Diamond Lakes Elementary, Freedom Park Elementary, Garrett Elementary, Goshen Elementary, Hains Elementary, Hephzibah Elementary, Jamestown Elementary, A.R. Johnson Magnet, Lake Forest Hills Elementary, McBean Elementary, Meadowbrook Elementary, A. Brian Merry Elementary, Monte Sano Elementary, National Hills Elementary, Rollins Elementary, Sego Middle, Sue Reynolds Elementary, Terrace Manor Elementary, Tobacco Road Elementary, Walker Traditional Elementary, Warren Road Elementary, Wheeless Road Elementary and Windsor Spring Road Elementary.



Savannah River Site resumes normal activity

A suspicious item was discovered Wednesday afternoon at the Savannah River National Laboratory which prompted emergency responseactivities.

... Read more