Florida gets all but one vote

HOOVER, Ala. - Defending national and Southeastern Conference champion Florida got all 64 first-place votes by media members as the pick to repeat as SEC East champions.


The Gators are also the choice to win the SEC title, getting all but one vote. Alabama is picked to win the SEC West, which would set up a rematch of last year's SEC title game.

Georgia, coming off a 10-3 season and with marquee players Matthew Stafford and Knowshon Moreno gone to the NFL, is predicted to finish second in the SEC East.

"There's something about being the underdog that makes you want to play harder," defensive tackle Jeff Owens said.

South Carolina is picked to finish third in the East.

Florida is the first team to be a unanimous pick to win a division since the conference split into two divisions in 1992.

Florida returns all 11 starters on defense and seven on offense.

"They probably return 90 percent of their team," Georgia coach Mark Richt said. "It's going to be tough, it's going to be tough on everybody."

Georgia landed five players on the preseason All-SEC team, which was also released Friday as SEC Media Days wrapped up.

Receiver A.J. Green was the lone Bulldogs' first-team pick.

Offensive linemen Clint Boling and Trinton Sturdivant and defensive tackle Geno Atkins and linebacker Rennie Curran are on the second team.

Curran was a first-team pick by the coaches. Florida's Brandon Spikes, Alabama's Rolando McClain and South Carolina' s Eric Norwood got the nod over Curran by the media.

Florida led with 12 All-SEC players including quarterback Tim Tebow and Spikes (61 votes each). Alabama had eight.



Savannah River Site resumes normal activity

A suspicious item was discovered Wednesday afternoon at the Savannah River National Laboratory which prompted emergency responseactivities.

... Read more