4 Georgia teams in NCAA baseball tourney

ATLANTA - Georgia, Georgia State and Georgia Southern have joined Georgia Tech in the regional round of the NCAA baseball tournament.


The Panthers will play in the regional hosted by Georgia Tech and will meet the Yellow Jackets on Friday. Tech was named a regional host on Sunday.

The Bulldogs will take on Ohio State on Friday in a regional hosted by Florida State in Tallahassee, Fla.

Georgia Southern will play at Fullerton, Calif., against Gonzaga on Friday in a round hosted by Cal State-Fullerton.

Each regional field in the double-elimination format includes four teams, with games scheduled from Friday to Monday.

The College World Series begins on June 13 in Omaha, Neb.



Savannah River Site resumes normal activity

A suspicious item was discovered Wednesday afternoon at the Savannah River National Laboratory which prompted emergency responseactivities.

... Read more