Georgia Teacher of the Year will be named tonight in Atlanta

ATLANTA — The Georgia Aquarium is the site of a banquet to name the 2010 Georgia Teacher of the Year, and a Columbia County teacher is one of the finalists.

The winner announced tonight will spend the 2009-2010 school year as an ambassador and advocate for the teaching profession, and will compete for National Teacher of the Year.

The 10 finalists are: Michele Rigsby, BelAir Elementary School, Columbia County; Tiffany Todd, Southeast Bulloch High School; Mark Lang, Camden Middle School; Gwen Desselle, Colquitt County High; ; Suzy Besson-Martilotta, Chattahoochee Elementary School, Forsyth County; Merrill Boynton-Cheyne, Harris County Carver Middle School; Sandy Akin, East Jackson Comprehensive High School; Krista Pearson, Lowndes High School; Kathie Wood, Marietta Middle School; and Jennifer Beckum Irvin, Toombs County High.


Savannah River Site resumes normal activity

A suspicious item was discovered Wednesday afternoon at the Savannah River National Laboratory which prompted emergency responseactivities.

... Read more