Driver has won event twice

CONCORD, N.C. - Chad Knaus, the mastermind behind a lot of Jimmie Johnson's success, didn't put any extra into the preparation for tonight's Sprint All-Star race because the team only knows one speed - all-out.


Johnson completed three laps around the Lowe's Motor Speedway and his team changed four tires in 2 minutes, 1.416 seconds to win the pole position for the non-points race that pays at least $1 million to the winner.

"If we were going to Caraway (N.C.) Speedway to race for $1, we'd push as much emphasis in it as we possibly can," he said. "That's how we roll."

Johnson has won the all-star race twice, but Friday's pole was the first for his team.

Kurt Busch will start second, while Matt Kenseth will start third.

The rest of the top-10 starters include: Dale Earnhardt Jr. in fourth, Mark Martin in fifth, Jeff Gordon in sixth, Bobby Labonte in seventh, Kasey Kahne in eighth, Kevin Harvick in ninth and Brad Keselowski in 10th.



Savannah River Site resumes normal activity

A suspicious item was discovered Wednesday afternoon at the Savannah River National Laboratory which prompted emergency responseactivities.

... Read more