Weather prompts SC office closings in 5 upstate counties

COLUMBIA -- Due to hazardous road conditions in the Northern region of South Carolina, Gov. Mark Sanford is closing state offices in five counties, which earlier today had been designated to open at 1 p.m.

State offices in Chesterfield, Dillon, Lancaster, Marlboro and York counties will now be closed all day Tuesday.

State employees in Chester and Union counties were asked to report to work at 1 p.m. today.



Savannah River Site resumes normal activity

A suspicious item was discovered Wednesday afternoon at the Savannah River National Laboratory which prompted emergency responseactivities.

... Read more