Area under tornado watch

A tornado watch was issued this morning for more than 100 Georgia counties, including Richmond, Columbia, Lincoln, McDuffie and Burke.

The watch will be in effect until 7 p.m. for 102 counties in the state, according to an e-mail from Columbia County Emergency Services Director Pam Tucker.

The tornado watch was issued by the National Weather Service Storm Prediction Center in Oklahoma.


Savannah River Site resumes normal activity

A suspicious item was discovered Wednesday afternoon at the Savannah River National Laboratory which prompted emergency responseactivities.

... Read more