Other area election results

Because of inaccurate information, the results of several Aiken County municipal elections were inaccurately reported in Wednesday's edition. In the Burnettown Town Council race, Trevor Ward and James McIntosh won seats. In the Wagener Town Council race, newcomer Marlon Hudson and incumbent John Hudson were both winners. The Chronicle regrets the errors.


Stoddard, McDowell to fill posts in Grovetown

Few Grovetown voters turned out Tuesday to elect an incumbent and a newcomer to fill two city council seats on the municipal election ballot.

Councilman Bruce Stoddard and businessman Sonny McDowell defeated incumbent Rosa Lee Owens for the open seats in the at-large election.

Mr. Stoddard, 57, was elected to his third four-year term on the council with 153 -- 31.55 percent -- of the votes cast.

Mr. McDowell, 54, the president of Grayco Detention Equipment, earned a seat on the council with 190 -- 39.18 percent -- of the votes.

Ms. Owens, 82, got 28.04 percent for 136 votes. She ran unopposed in 2007 to fill the unexpired term of George James, who resigned to make a successful run for mayor.

In all, just 274 cards were cast, including six write-in votes, representing less than 6 percent of Grovetown's registered voters.

Buchwitz, Boulineau, Alley win in Hephzibah

In Hephzibah, Robert Buchwitz, the incumbent, won City Seat 1 with 191 votes for 98 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Jody Boulineau won Hephzibah Seat 2 with 197 votes for 99 percent. The Hephzibah Seat 3 race went to Thomas Alley, with 137 votes -- 52 percent -- of the vote.

Burnettown gives its mayor another term

In Burnettown, incumbent C.H. Williams beat out Town Councilman Chuck Mason in the mayoral race.

Mr. Williams received more than 77 percent of the 344 votes that were cast.

Incumbent Bobby Griffin Jr. and former council member Trevor Ward defeated their competitors to win town council seats.

Mr. Griffin took in about 34 percent of the 659 votes, while Mr. Ward garnered 23 percent.

Both defeated T.R. Carver and former council members James McIntosh and David Glenn Mintor.

Shuler, Cumbee top McKay in Monetta

In Monetta on Tuesday, newcomer Nathan Shuler beat out an incumbent to win one of the Monetta Town Council seats.

Mr. Shuler won 40 percent of the vote. Incumbent Michael Cumbee got 30 percent of the vote.

Both beat incumbent Charles McKay.

O'Byrne, Johnson win Wagner council seats

A newcomer and an incumbent will serve on the Wagener Town Council.

Incumbent Andy O'Byrne won 45 percent of the vote. Newcomer Marlon Johnson won 7 percent of the 190 votes cast.

Both beat out incumbent John Hudson.