TULSA, Okla. - When players have finished their rounds at sultry Southern Hills in this week's PGA Championship, they've naturally been eager to get inside to some air conditioning.
But Sergio Garcia apparently was in too much of a hurry after shooting 74 in Saturday's third round, and was disqualified for his haste.
Garcia, who made the cut right on the 5-over number after contending early in the second round, did not check his scorecard after finishing the day with playing partner Boo Weekley. If he had, he might have noticed that Weekley mistakenly put Garcia down for par at the 17th hole, when Garcia actually made bogey.
Players keep each other's scorecards during professional tournaments, but it's each player's obligation to make sure his own card is correct before signing it and leaving the scoring area.
Garcia and Weekley exchanged cards after entering the scoring area, but Weekley said Garcia signed his card without checking it.
"I didn't notice him leave," Weekley said. "I was checking my own card."
Weekley tried to catch up with Garcia, who had gone up a flight of stairs toward the locker room. By the time he came back down, a rules official told him that once he left the scoring area, he could not change his card to the correct score.
"Sergio said, 'well, that's just the icing on the cake,' " Weekley recounted.
Weekley apologized for writing down the wrong score, but was unrepentant for Garcia's disqualification.
"It's my fault I wrote down the wrong score, but it's his job to check his card," Weekley said.
Garcia had a checkered season in the major championships. He shot a combined 24-over-par and missed the cuts at The Masters Tournament and U.S. Open, then bogeyed his last hole at the British Open to fall into a playoff with Padraig Harrington, which he lost by one shot.
Garcia shot 70 in the first round at Southern Hills and made two early birdies in the second round to get into contention. However, he bogeyed four holes in a row on the back nine to shoot 75 and barely make the cut.
In the third round, Garcia double-bogeyed his second hole and then bogeyed his last two.
This is the second time this season that Weekley has been in the middle of a rules controversy.
In the final round of the Arnold Palmer Invitational in Orlando, Weekley was playing with Tom Johnson. Johnson faced an 85-foot putt at the par-3 second hole and elected to chip with his ball on the green. Johnson forgot to tell his caddie to tend the flag, and when the ball was on the way to the hole, Weekley raced over and pulled the flagstick out - resulting in a two-stroke penalty on Weekley because Johnson had not authorized him to tend the flag.
Had Weekley not touched the flag, Johnson would have received a two-stroke penalty for making a stroke on the putting surface without pulling the flag. Weekley's penalty increased his score to 69, instead of 67, which cost him a top-10 finish.