Did the R&A drop the ball?

Associated Press
Defending British Open champion Tiger Woods received a free drop on No. 10 when it was ruled TV cables couldn't be moved.

WHAT HAPPENED? When Tiger Woods pulled his tee shot into deep rough left of the 10th fairway, the ball settled on a strand of television cables. An official for the Royal & Ancient Golf Club, Alan Holmes, gave him relief within one club length rather than having the TV cables moved.

WHAT WAS THE OFFICIAL'S EXPLANATION? When someone suggested the cables are supposed to be moved, Holmes replied, "They're fixed."

WAS HE RIGHT? Mark Roe, a former European Tour player now working for the BBC, went over to the cables and moved them 3 feet. Roe later approached the official and said he gave Woods the wrong ruling. "I most certainly did not," Holmes said.

DID IT MAKE A DIFFERENCE? It was a significant break, as Woods had 167 yards to clear the burn and 199 yards to the green. From his original lie, he probably could not have hit near the green, and might have had to play short of the burn. Woods finished the first round with 69, four shots off the lead.

DID WOODS AGREE WITH THE CALL? "It was a weird drop. I was as surprised as anybody. Usually TV cables are movable, but they deemed it immovable. They couldn't move them out of there. So I've never seen that ruling before.

"I didn't ask for it. The guy told me I could (drop it). Because he tried to move them before I got there to help me out, to keep the pace of play going. Then when I got there he says the TV cables are immovable."

- From staff and wire reports



Development of China Tour ahead of schedule

The PGA Tour China Series began in 2014 and by all accounts is ahead of schedule in developing local talent.

Last year, Li Haotong was one... Read more

Golf Glance



SITE: Las Vegas

Course: TPC Summerlin. Yardage: 7,255. Par: 71

Purse: $6.6... Read more