Tebow picks up pair of honors for season

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. --- Tim Tebow stopped off in central Florida on Thursday on the way to the Heisman Trophy presentation and picked up the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards.


The Florida quarterback beat out fellow Heisman finalist Darren McFadden of Arkansas and Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon for the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's best all-round player, at the college football awards show held at the Walt Disney World Resort.

"I just want to thank my teammates and all the seniors back in Gainesville," Tebow said. "I'm just glad to be a Gator."

Tebow, the first player in major college football to run for at least 20 touchdowns and throw for at least 20, is considered the favorite for the Heisman and is trying to become the first underclassmen to win the award.

The other Heisman finalists who will be in New York on Saturday for the award ceremony are Missouri quarterback Chase Daniel and Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan .

Tebow beat out Daniel and Dixon for the O'Brien award, given to the nation's top quarterback.

McFadden won the Doak Walker Award for best running back for the second consecutive season. Ricky Williams of Texas was the last player to win back-to-back Walker awards in 1997-98. McFadden ran for 1,725 yards and had 2,172 all-purpose yards, breaking the school records he set last year.

LSU: Coach Les Miles signed a contract extension to keep him at the university through 2012 and end speculation that Miles might leave for a job at Michigan.

The contract extension requires approval of the full governing board, which is expected to be a formality when the board meets today. The board's athletic committee approved the extension Thursday with nearly all board members present.

WAKE FOREST: Coach Jim Grobe will return next season, having apparently rebuffed an attempt by Arkansas to hire him to replace Houston Nutt .

TEXAS A&M: Indefinitely suspended Yemi Babalola and Brandon Joiner after their arrests a day earlier on felony robbery and drug counts.

SOUTH ALABAMA: The university's board of trustees voted to start a football program.


Maxwell Award - Tim Tebow, Florida

Walter Camp Award - Darren McFadden, Arkansas

Dick Butkus Award - To be announced today

Outland Trophy - Glenn Dorsey, LSU

Davey O'Brien Award - Tim Tebow, Florida

Doak Walker Award - Darren McFadden, Arkansas

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award - Matt Ryan, Boston College

Chuck Bednarik Award - Dan Connor, Penn State

Fred Biletnikoff Award - Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award - Glenn Dorsey, LSU

Jim Thorpe Award - Antoine Cason, Arizona

John Mackey Award - Fred Davis, Southern California

Lou Groza Award - Thomas Weber, Arizona State

Bronko Nagurski Award - Glenn Dorsey, LSU

Walter Payton Award - To be announced Dec. 13

Buck Buchanan Award - To be announced Dec. 13

Harlon Hill Trophy - To be announced Dec. 14

Melberger Award - Has not been announced

Gagliardi Trophy - To be announced Dec. 13

Ted Hendricks Award - Chris Long, Virginia

Rimington Trophy - Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas

Ray Guy Award - Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech



UGA defensive improvement overshadowed by offensive struggles

ATHENS, Ga. — In the latter stages of Saturday's 24-10 loss to Florida in Jacksonville, Kirby Smart didn't see any quit in a Georgia defense that... Read more

Notre Dame No. 1 in preseason AP women’s poll

It's been 15 years since Muffet McGraw and Notre Dame were No. 1 in the poll.

The Irish earned the top spot in The Associated Press women's... Read more

South Carolina tight end is giving up football

South Carolina coach Will Muschamp says freshman tight end Robert Tucker III is giving up football due to medical concerns.

Muschamp said... Read more