Stories by Bill Baab

Thursday, Sept. 11, 2014

Special day is approaching in Georgia

There are lots of free events at celebrations scheduled during National Hunting and Fishing Day (Saturday, Sept. 27) in Georgia.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, Sept. 4, 2014

Shaffer has day to remember at Thurmond Lake

Austin Shaffer will never forget the day he caught his bigget fish at Thurmond Lake
By Bill Baab

Thursday, Aug 28, 2014

Fishing guides are valuable

Wait until after Labor Day when crowds subside and head to Fripp Island Marina or go out with Capt. Judy Helmey in Savannah, Ga.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, Aug 21, 2014

Early morning fishing is best bet

Early morning times are best to catch striped, hybrid fish at Thurmond Lake
By Bill Baab

Thursday, Aug 14, 2014

Evans teen ready for his next fishing adventure

Tyler Matthews' next great bass fishing adventure takes place this week on South Carolina's Lake Wateree.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, Aug 7, 2014

Hotel plans at Thurmond Lake never happened

Years ago, there was a plan to build a hotel near Little River Marina (now called Thurmond Marina). But it never materialized for a number of reasons.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Tackle show had little that was new

The Icast fishing tackle show in Orlando, Fla., produced over 300 "new" bits of tackle, but a quick glance at the Bass Anglers Sportsman Society Web site report shows that a lot of it was just ...
By Bill Baab

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Thurmond Lake's largemouth bass are doing fine

If anyone was wondering about the overall health of Thurmond Lake's largemouth bass population, they needn't have been.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Fishing trip was a success

Annual north Georgia fishing trip was a positive experience for all concerned.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Meetings are set up to discuss possible changes

The Georgia Wildlife Resources Division wants to hear people's opinions on three proposed changes in fishing regulations, but only one affects anglers in the Augusta area.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Baab: Now's the time for deep-water catches

Deep water striper and hybrid fishing on Thurmond Lake has reached its peak, with fishing success expected to last all summer.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Georgia man ties stumpknocker record

Ryan Kersey recently tied the Georgia record for the largest stumpknocker, a.k.a. spotted sunfish.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, June 5, 2014

National Fishing and Boating Week starts Saturday

Anglers should take advantage of National Fishing and Boating Week, which starts Saturday
By Bill Baab

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Local youngster wins age group in tournament

Kyler McKie, a seventh grader at North Augusta Middle School and member of the North Augusta Fishing Team, finished first in his age group with 11.85 pounds of bass in The Bass Federation Junior ...
By Bill Baab

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Lucrative bass tournament on tap at Wildwood Park

One of the richest bass tournaments ever held on Thurmond Lake is coming up June 7 at Wildwood Park. Payback includes $10,000 to the winners, $5,000 to the runners-up and $1,000 for the biggest ...
By Bill Baab

Fishing tournaments

Sponsoring a bass, crappie, catfish or other fishing tournament? Mail or fax your flier or information to Fishing Editor, The Augusta Chronicle, P.O. Box 1928, Augusta, Ga. 30903-1928. Fax number: ...
By Bill Baab

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Free fishing days are coming up

There will be two free fishing days in June
By Bill Baab

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Tiny fish population could be in danger

Keeping tiny fish is legal, but some are worried that future populations might be negatively affected.
By Bill Baab

Thursday, May 1, 2014

Good time to fish at Thurmond

This is one of the best times of the year to fish for largemouth bass, hybrid and striped bass on Thurmond Lake. There's almost a guarantee you'll catch fish.
By Bill Baab
n/a

Search Augusta jobs