Stories by Alan Sculley

Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2014

The Revivalists to play twice: festival, then Sky City encore

The Revivalists are playing in Augusta for the first time on Saturday, Sept. 20. And the band is making the first visit count, by not only playing a 7:30 p.m. show at the Arts in the Heart of ...
By Alan Sculley

Tuesday, Sept. 9, 2014

Kristian Bush uses own voice to headline Border Bash

Kristian Bush, best known as part of the duo Sugarland, will be the headline act for the 21st annual Border Bash on Friday, Sept. 12, at Augusta Common.
By Alan Sculley

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Avett Brothers fans will hear fuller sound at Banjo-B-Que festival

Fans who come to Papa Joe's Banjo-B-Que Music Festival at 9:30 p.m. Friday, May 23, to see The Avett Brothers might expect to see the stripped-down, acoustic performance, but they'll be in for a ...
By Alan Sculley

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Pretty Reckless seeks first reaction

If you want to know the meaning behind the songs Taylor Momsen writes for her band, The Pretty Reckless, don't expect her to provide much insight - especially when it comes to the group's new ...
By Alan Sculley

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Williams will play solo, with band at Aiken Bluegrass fest

Keller Williams started out playing solo, but has enjoyed collaborating with fellow musicians during his career.
By Alan Sculley

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

St. Paul & the Broken Bones make soul connection

St. Paul & The Broken Bones are among the performers for the 21st annual Blind Willie McTell Blues Festival on Saturday, May 10.
By Alan Sculley

Monday, April 21, 2014

Summer break proves 'Golden' for Lady Antebellum

Lady Antebellum, on tour to promote "Golden," will play at James Brown Arena on April 29.
By Alan Sculley

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Rock Fore! Dough headliner Rucker pulled out all the stops for 'True Believers'

Darius Rucker says his current album, True Believers, is the most important album he's made in his career. Fans will hear songs from it and more when Rucker headlines the 10th annual Drive for ...
By Alan Sculley

Expect variety from Umphrey's McGee at Major Rager

Umphrey's McGee, a band that's known for playing a diverse range of rock music, is set to perform at The Major Rager, a new Masters Week event set for 7 p.m. Monday, April 7, at the Augusta ...
By Alan Sculley

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Zac Brown Band performs Friday at James Brown Arena

The Zac Brown Band did not come up through the usual country channels.
By Alan Sculley

Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2014

Newsboys finds new life with new singer

The Newsboys might be considered the Van Halen of Christian music. Hear them on Thursday, Feb. 13, during Winter Jam 2014 at James Brown Arena.
By Alan Sculley

Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2013

Need a gift? Box sets might be perfect for music fan

Every year, box sets and other special releases make great gifts for music fans. Here's a look at the best sets from 2013.
By Alan Sculley

Tuesday, Dec. 3, 2013

Holiday music releases have new takes on classics

As usual, it's a bountiful season for Christmas music. Here's a look at the best of the new releases.
By Alan Sculley

Saturday, Nov. 16, 2013

Guitarist decided it was time to retune his career

Joe Bonamassa came into 2013 feeling it was time to open a new chapter in his career. "To me, you have to do that every once in a while.
By Alan Sculley

Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2013

Rapper Wale is clear on his ambition

Wale is promoting his third CD "The Gifted" by opening for J. Cole on a fall tour that stops at Augusta's Bell Auditorium on Sunday, Sept. 15.
By Alan Sculley

Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2013

In studio, or on stage, Blackberry Smoke is inspired by the music

Border Bash headliner Blackberry Smoke draws praise for its live shows.
By Alan Sculley

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Staind singer-songwriter finds his roots in country

Aaron Lewis says when it comes to his music and creativity, he simply refuses to be told how to do things.
By Alan Sculley
n/a

Search Augusta jobs