Chronicle 225

Main | Choose Top Stories | Blog: Our Town |

Getting your news in the 'Chronicle'

  • Follow 225 Section

GETTING YOUR NEWS INTO 'THE CHRONICLE'

YOUR NEWS: Customer Service Director Sean Moores is the point man for all of your news tips and news releases. Reach him by phone or e-mail, (706) 823-3448, (sean.moores@augustachronicle.com), and by the Contact Us link at the bottom of every Augusta Chronicle Web page.

EVENT LISTINGS: Popular listings are:

- Applause! An arts and entertainment guide. Published every Thursday.

- Around Town: On Page 2A every day

- Community newspapers: Richmond County Neighbors (Thursdays), North Augusta Today (Wednesdays), and The Columbia County News-Times (Wednesdays and Sundays).

WHAT TO SUBMIT: Notices of events should be submitted in writing three to four weeks before the event for maximum publicity. Announcements should include:

- Name of event, and a brief description

- Date and time of event

- Location (name of facility or venue, and street address)

- Ticket prices

- A phone number, e-mail and contact for more information. Indicate whether the name and number may be published.

WHERE TO SUBMIT

- The Chronicle

E-mail (preferred): announcements@augustachronicle.com

Mail: The Augusta Chronicle Newsroom, P.O. Box 1928, Augusta, GA 30903-1928, Attn: Applause calendar, Neighbors calendar, etc.

Fax: (706) 722-7403

- The Columbia County News-Times

E-mail: cnt@newstimesonline.com

Mail: 4272 Washington Road, Suite 3B, Evans, GA 30809

Phone (706) 868-1222, ext. 115 or 106

Fax: (706) 868-9824 fax

- North Augusta Today

E-Mail: crystal.garcia@northaugustatoday.com

Mail: P.O. Box 7035, North Augusta, S.C. 29861-7035

Phone: (706) 823-3409

Fax: (706) 722-7403

NEWSROOM DIRECTORY

It might also be helpful to send your event notice to an editor or reporter. You may also contact these employees to request coverage. The main newspaper phone number is (706) 724-0851.

Business: Tim Rausch, Business Editor, (706) 823-3352, (timothy.rausch@augustachronicle.com)

Religion: Kelly Jasper, Faith and Values Reporter, (706) 823-3552, (kelly.jasper@augustachronicle.com)

Comics and puzzles: Tim Rausch, Busi-ness Editor, (706) 823-3352, (timothy. rausch@augustachronicle.com)

Awards and honors: Willie Malpass, News Assistant; (706) 823-3512, (willie.malpass@augustachronicle.com)

Consumer issues: LaTina Emerson, Consumer Reporter, (706) 823-3227, (latina.emerson@augustachroncicle.com)

Education and schools:

- Jason Wermers, Richmond County, (706) 828-3851, (jason.wermers@augustachronicle.com)

- Donnie Fetter, Columbia County, (706) 868-1222, (donnie.fetter@augustachronicle.com)

- Julia Sellers, Aiken County, (803) 648-1395, (julia.sellers@augustachronicle.com)

Entertainment: Mary Frances Hendrix, Applause Editor, (706) 823-3347, (maryfrances.hendrix@augustachonicle.com)

Food, family & fashion: Tim Rausch, Business Editor, (706) 823-3352, (timothy.rausch@augustachronicle.com)

Gardening: Sandy Hodson, Reporter, (706) 823-3226, (sandy.hodson@augustachronicle.com)

Government (Richmond County): Sylvia Cooper, Reporter/Columnist, (706) 823-3228, (sylvia.cooper@augustachronicle.com)

Health: Tom Corwin, Science and Medicine Writer; (706) 823-3213, (tom.corwin@augustachronicle.com)

Home section: Tim Rausch, Business Editor, (706) 823-3352, (timothy.rausch@augustachronicle.com)

Investigative journalism: Mike Wynn, Public Service Editor, (706) 823-3218, (mike.wynn@augustachronicle.com)

News tips: James Folker, Local News Director, (706) 823-3338, (james.folker@augustachronicle.com); (crime, politics, government, etc.) or Bill Kirby, Online News Director, (706) 823-3344; (bill.kirby@augustachronicle.com);

Neighbors: Nikasha Dicks, Reporter, (706) 823-3336, (Nikasha.dicks@augustachronicle.com)

Obituaries: Submitted by funeral homes; for questions, contact Obituaries, (706) 823-3351, (706) 823-3588 (fax)

Outdoors and environment: Rob Pavey, Outdoors, (706) 868-1222, ext. 119, (rob.pavey@augustachronicle.com)

Photos: John Curry, Director of Photography, (john.curry@augustachronicle.com) (706) 823-3309.

Public service: (announcements@augustachronicle.com) or Willie Malpass, News Assistant; (706) 823-3512, (willie.malpass@augustachronicle.com)

Social media: Sarah Day Owen, Social Media Editor, (706) 823-3223, (sarah.owen@augustachronicle.com)

Sports: John Boyette, Sports Editor, (706) 823-3337, (john.boyette@augustachronicle.com)

Spotted: See spotted.augusta.com for details. Ryan Wehmeyer, Spotted Specialist, (706) 823-3220, (ryan.wehmeyer@augustachronicle.com)

Weddings, engagements, anniversaries, births: Celebrations Department, Advertising, (706) 828-3844, (celebrations@augustachronicle.com)


Top headlines

Sickness closes all McDuffie County schools

One day after closing an elementary because of excessive absences caused by an outbreak of influenza, strep infection and stomach viruses, the McDuffie County School System has decided to enact an ...
Search Augusta jobs