Basketball fans have much to choose from this week

WHO'S HOT: Area basketball fans. Even the most die-hard fans will see their cup run over with playoff action this week. Georgia High School Association region championship games in Class AA, AAA and AAAA will be taking place at the same time within a 15-mile radius on Saturday.


The first round of the Region 3-AAAA tournament will take place at the high seeds across the next two days. It moves to Richmond Academy for four games each on Friday and Saturday.

Cross Creek is the site of the Region 3-AAA tournament. The Razorbacks will play host to 24 games this week. The Region 3-AA tournament begins at Josey today.

LOT TO PROVE: The Glenn Hills (22-3) boys team has a chance at history this week. The Spartans have never won a region title.

Burke County (20-4) should be the main team standing in the way of that feat. A quarterfinal victory would put the Bears in the state playoffs for the first time since 1987.

OVERHEARD: Laney's Otis Smart is instilling a sense of urgency in his team this year.

"I'm preparing you for every thing," he told his team on Monday. "Everything a team will possibly run against us we'll be prepared for. It won't be on coach not having you ready this year. I'm going to make sure we're prepared, but I can't go on the floor and play for you. I can't fill your shoes. My feet are too big. I wear Size 17-E. My feet won't fit in your little shoes."

It wasn't even his best line.

"If your man goes to the bathroom I want you going with her," he said. "If she goes to the popcorn stand I want you to help her with the butter. If she goes to order a sub sandwich, I want you to go and bring a sub back for us."

HONORS: Region 3-AA released its all-region team on Monday. Swainsboro junior Tony Mitchell was named boys player of the year. Swainsboro coach Leroy Jordan was named coach of the year.

Westside's Jammal Crayton and Laney's La'Vertus Hall were the only first-team choices from their schools. Josey placed both Ismail Tolbert and Daniel Walden on the team. Swainsboro also had Neal David, Derrick Smith and Jamail Turner named to the first team.

Screven County's Antrjuan Albright and Jefferson County's Derrick Mitchell were the other first-team selections.

Laney's Otis Smart was named girls coach of the year. Screven County senior Kadedra Evans was named the top player. Her teammate Ashley Loundy also made the first team. Laney was represented by Kami Phillips, Ty Johnson and Glentrice Sapp. Josey's Marnetta Lee and Jefferson County sophomore Laheede Jackson were also on the first-team list.

Westside was represented by junior Felicia Richardson.

ALL-NICKNAME TEAM: Washington County introduces its players with a slew of nicknames at home games. Senior guard Marvin Harris goes by "Mr. Quickness." The other starting guard is Milton "Crossover" Toliver. The Golden Hawk big men are known as Antonio "That's my rebound" Danzy and Elhanon "The Doctor of Defense" Bone.

Reach Jeff Sentell at (706) 823-3425 or